IPKRC
Indigenous Peoples Knowledges and Rights Commission of the IGU


IPSG
Indigenous Peoples Speciality Group of the Association of American Geographers


IISG
Indigenous Issues Study Group of the Institute of Australian Geographers


IPWG
Indigenous People's Working Group of the Canadian Association of Geographers

Research Ethics
A Source Guide to Conducting Research with Indigenous Peoples

Home

Locations of visitors to this page


Canadian Geographers Engaged in Indigenous Geography

Information on this page may change.  Please inform us of any inaccuracies.

Name  University  Faculty/Department  Title  PhD  Email  Research Interest(s) 
Lall, Mel  Brandon University  Faculty of Education  Professional Associate  Toronto (MA)  lall@brandonu.ca  Aboriginal education (demographic aspects, teacher preparation) 
Stager, John K.  University of British Columbia  Department of Geography  Professor Emeritus  Edinburgh  jstager@geog.ubc.ca  Geography of the Arctic; human adaptation to, and impact upon, the Canadian North. 
Sundberg, Juanita R.  University of British Columbia  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Texas  sundberg@geog.ubc.ca  Conservation and democratization in Latin America 
Berg, Lawrence  University of British Columbia Okanagan  Community, Culture and Global Studies  Associate Professor  Waikato  lawrence.berg@ubc.ca  Cultural safety in healthcare for urban Aboriginal peoples; place and the politics of identity 
Corbett, Jon  University of British Columbia Okanagan  Community, Culture and Global Studies  Assistant Professor  Victoria  jon.corbett@ubc.ca  Digital multimedia technologies that can be effectively combined with maps and used by remote and marginal communities to document, store, manage and communicate their culture, language, history and traditional ecological knowledge; geographic representation of community information using 
Butz, David  Brock University  Department of Geography  Professor  McMaster  dbmarley@brocku.ca  Geographies of everyday resistance; community level social organisation in northern Pakistan; transport labour in the Karakoram/Hindu-Kush/Himalaya 
Ripmeester, Michael  Brock University  Department of Geography  Professor  Queen's  mripmees@brocku.ca  Geographies of popular memory; Geography and ethnohistory; Historical and cultural geography; Historical geographies of First Nations in Ontario 
Brown, Denise  University of Calgary  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  California  dfbrown@ucalgary.ca  Cultural landscapes and ethnic spaces (Mexico) 
Davidsen, Conny  University of Calgary  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Dresden  davidsen@ucalgary.ca  Conservation policy processes in Latin America; community-based forest management and local control 
Doubleday, Nancy C.  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Associate Professor  Queen's  Nancy_Doubleday@carleton.ca  Arctic sustainability (linking peace, justice, and ecosystem health to changing environments and decision-making); adaptive co-management, leadership and environmental change 
Ballamingie, Patricia  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Assistant Professor  Carleton  Patricia_Ballamingie@carleton.ca  Sustainable community and urban agriculture; environmental conflict and deliberative democracy; engaged environmental scholarship 
Ljubicic (Laider), Gita  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Assistant Professor  Toronto  Gita_Laidler@carleton.ca  Inuit knowledge, language and use of Arctic environments 
Smith, Derek A.  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Assistant Professor  Kansas  dereka_smith@carleton.ca  Use and conservation of natural resources by indigenous and other rural peoples living in rain forest regions of Central America and Mexico 
Taylor, D.R. Fraser  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Distinguished Research Professor  Edinburgh  fraser_taylor@carleton.ca  Regional and rural development theory and practice woth special emphasis on sustainable development and indigenous development strategies in Africa and Latin America; Application of cybercartography and geomatics to socio-economic in a national and international context with special reference 
Konrad, V.  Carleton University  Geography and Environmental Studies  Adjunct Research Professor  McMaster  vkonrad@hotmail.com  Culture transfer across boundaries; geography of North American relations 
Mulrennan, Monica  Concordia University  Department of Geography, Planning & Environment  Associate Professor  Dublin  monica.mulrennan@ concordia.ca  Indigenous resource management, community-based resource management, indigenous ecological knowledge, small-boat fisheries development, marine Protected Areas (MPAs), coastal and marine management. 
Bradshaw, Benjamin  University of Guelph  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Guelph  bbradsha@uoguelph.ca  Environmental economic geography, resource management (community-based resource management) 
Gray, Noella  University of Guelph  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Duke  grayn@uoguelph.ca  Political ecology, marine resource management and conservation, common property and co-management, Central America and the Caribbean 
Kuhn, Richard  University of Guelph  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Alberta  rhuhn@uoguelph.ca  Resource management, environmental assessment, political economy, nuclear fuel waste management. 
Smit, Barry  University of Guelph  Department of Geography  Professor  McMaster  bsmit@uoguelph.ca  Integrated human-physical geography, climate change, environment and resource use, global change, impact assessment 
Véron, René  University of Guelph  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Zurich  rveron@uoguelph.ca  Development geography, governance, political ecology, South Asia 
Dowsley, Martha  Lakehead Univeristy  Geography and Anthropology  Assistant Professor  McGill  mdowsley@lakeheadu.ca  Common property theory, Inuit and natural resource management 
Wilson, William R.  Lakehead Univeristy  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Saskatchewan  will.wilson@lakeheadu.ca  Conservation, indigenous peoples, predator-prey geographical behaviour, cultural geography, and Quaternary biogeography 
Johnston, Margaret E.  Lakehead Univeristy  School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism  Professor  Canterbury  mejohnst@lakeheadu.ca  Interactions of people and the environment as they are experienced through recreation and tourism in northern areas and communities. 
Koster, Rhonda L.P.  Lakehead Univeristy  School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism  Associate Professor  Saskatchewan  rkoster@lakeheadu.ca  Aboriginal tourism, nature-based tourism in the developed world, rural community economic development, rural community tourism planning and development 
Payne, Robert J.  Lakehead Univeristy  School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism  Professor  Calgary  rjpayne@lakeheadu.ca  human dimension issues in parks and protected areas and in natural resources (especially coastal and marine issues) 
Allard, Michel  Université Laval  Département de Géographie  Professor  McGill  Michel.Allard@cen.ulaval.ca  Permafrost and climate change in Northern Coastal Canada: impacts and adaptations for communities 
Bhiry, Najat  Université Laval  Département de Géographie  Professor  Paris VI  Najat.Bhiry@cen.ulaval.ca  Dynamic Inuit Societies in Arctic history, time and space for Inuits of Nunavik 
Déry, Steve  Université Laval  Département de Géographie  Associate Professor  Laval  Steve.Dery@ggr.ulaval.ca  Marginalité, marginalisation et intégration dans les montagnes d’Asie du Sud-Est continentale, minorités ethniques, conservation et aires protégées 
Desbiens, Caroline  Université Laval  Département de Géographie  Associate Professor  UBC  Caroline.Desbiens@ggr.ulaval.ca  Aboriginals in urban environments, time and space for Inuit of Nunavik, power from the north: Culture, landscape and hydroelectricity in Eeyou Istchee, mobolization of knowledge in ecologies on the edge 
Gravel, Nathalie  Université Laval  Département de Géographie  Assistant Professor  Laval  Nathalie.Gravel@ggr.ulaval.ca  Géographie d’Amérique latine, géographie rurale, transnationalisation et mondialisation 
Townshend, Ivan  University of Lethbridge  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Calgary  townni0@uleth.ca  Employment structure of First Nations communities 
Masuda, Jeff  University of Manitoba  Department of Environment and Geography  Assistant Professor  Alberta  jeff_masuda@umanitoba.ca  Supporting rurale and aboriginal youth with asthma and anaphylaxis 
Oakes, Jill  University of Manitoba  Department of Environment and Geography  Professor  Manitoba  jill_oakes@umanitoba.ca  Indigenous peoples and environmental change, Alaskans coastal cultures 
McLachlan, Stephane  University of Manitoba  Department of Environment and Geography  Associate Professor  York  mclachla@cc.umanitoba.ca  Environmental justice, community centered and action research with First Nations across western North America, Europe, and Asia 
Sieber, Renée  McGill University  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Rutgers  renee.sieber@mcgill.ca  Geospatial ontologies in indigenous communities, participatory GIS in marginalized communities, use and development of e-commerce tools for use in marginalized communities 
Unruh, Jon  McGill University  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Arizona  jon.unruh@mcgill.ca  Customary, indigenous, traditional land law; change in resource use process and pattern of pastoralists in East Africa 
Wenzel, George  McGill University  Department of Geography  Professor  McGill  wenzel@geog.mcgill.ca  Northern peoples (renewable resource harvesting in Arctic Canada), public policy and native people 
Coomes, Oliver  McGill University  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Wisconsin-Madison  coomes@geog.mcgill.ca  Agroforestry, rain forest extraction, peasant economy, culture ecology, environment and development in Latin America 

Ford, James

 

Meredith, Thom

 

Jacobs, John Herrmann,

 

Thora Martina 

McGill University

 

McGill University

 

Memorial University

 

Université de Montréal 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography

 

Département de géographie 

Assistant Professor

 

Associate Professor

 

Honorary Research Professor

 

Assistant Professor 

Guelph

 

Cambridge

 

 

Colorado

 

 

Oxford 

james.ford@mcgill.ca

 

meredith@geog.mcgill.ca

 

 

jjacobs@mun.ca

 

 

thora.martina.herrmann@umontreal.ca 

Human adaptation to environmental change in the Arctic Community-based environmental protection strategies that bring both scientific and local or traditional information into environmental decision-making (research site: mountain forest communities in Quebec, British Columbia, Mexico and East Africa). Climate variability and change in northeastern Canada, sustainability of indigenous northern communities and is involved in community-based climate change monitoring initiatives with Labrador Innu and Inuit. Savoirs locaux et autochtones, valeurs culturelles et spirituelles de la biodiversité, gestion communautaire des ressources, ethnobotanique, ethnoécologie, genre, développement durable, coopération internationale 
Bruce, David  Mount Allison University  Department of Geography  Adjunct Professor  UBC (MA)  dwbruce@mta.ca  Aboriginal economic development 
Huff, Leah  Mount Allison University  Department of Geography  Lecturer  Queen's (MA)  lhuff@mta.ca  Latin American geography, Maya identity and spirituality in Guatemala 
Fondahl, Gail  University of Northern British Columbia  Department of Geography  Professor  Berkeley  fondahlg@unbc.ca  Arctic social indicators, community- based research, indigenous land rights and land claims in Russian North 
Nolin, Catherine  University of Northern British Columbia  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Queen's  nolin@unbc.ca  Transnational migration to Canada, migrant insecurity at the Guatemala-Mexico border, social justice, indigenous rights 
Godlewska, Anne  Queen's University  Department of Geography  Professor  Clark  godlewsk@queensu.ca  Aboriginal geographies, enducation and citizenship, geography and imperialism 
Lovell, George  Queen's University  Department of Geography  Professor  Alberta  lovellg@queensu.ca  Historical geography of Spanish Central America, Spaniards and Indians in colonial Guatemala 
Osborne, Brian  Queen's University  Department of Geography  Professor Emeritus  Southhampton  osborneb@queensu.ca  Aboriginal history, settlement history, cultural landscapes 
Paul, Alec  University of Regina  Department of Geography  Professor  Alberta  paulal@uregina.ca  Aboriginal people in Saskatchewan 
Aryee, Abednego  Ryerson University  Department of Geography  Limited term faculty  Wilfrid Laurier  aaryee@ryerson.ca  Sustainable livelihoods in developing countries, GIS applications in community-based natural resource management 
Bone, Robert M.  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Professor Emeritus  Nebraska  robert.bone@usask.ca  Changes in population in the Arctic and Subarctic; economic, demographic and health of the Lac La Ronge Indian Band, impact of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement 
Hackett, Paul  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Assistant Professor  Manitoba  paul.hackett@usask.ca  Diabetes in Aboriginal health, history of Aboriginal health 
Patrick, Robert  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Assistant Professor  Guelph  robert.patrick@usask.ca  Access to safe drinking water in Aboriginal communities 
Peters, Evelyn J  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Associate Professor  Queen's  evelyn.peters@usask.ca  Aboriginal peoples and urbanization, Aboriginal self-government 
Reed, Maureen G.  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Professor  Waterloo  m.reed@usask.ca  Ecosystem-based management and environmental governance, environmental management and social equity, rural and resource communities in Canada 
Walker, Ryan  University of Saskatchewan  Department of Geography and Planning  Assistant Professor  Queen's  ryan.walker@usask.ca  Indigeneity and urban development, Indigenous housing in urban areas, municipal planning with Aboriginal communities 
Sturgeon, Janet  Simon Fraser University  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Yale  sturgeon@sfu.ca  Community and regional economic development, sustainable community development 
Favrholdt, Ken  Thompson River's University  Department of Geography  Part-time lecturer  UBC (MA)  kfavrholdt@tru.ca  First Nations land claims 

Goehring, Brian

 

DiFrancesco, Richard

 

McGregor, Deborah 

Thompson River's University

 

University of Toronto

 

University of Toronto 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography 

Assistant Professor

 

Associate Professor

 

Associate Professor 

 

UBC

 

McMaster

 

Toronto 

 

bgoehring@tru.ca

 

difrance@geog.utoronto.ca

 

d.mcgregor@utoronto.ca 

Indigenous peoples of Canada, geography of the Canadian Arctic Socioeconomic development of the Canadian North, socioeconomic implications of geopolitical change in the Canadian North Aboriginal issues, environmental ethic, traditional ecological knowledge, forest management 
Wilson, Kathi  University of Toronto  Department of Geography  Associate Professor  Queen's  kwilson@eratos.utoronto.ca  Aboriginal peoples health 
Canessa, Rosaline  University of Victoria  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  Victoria  rcanessa@mail.geog.uvic.ca  Coastal planning and integrated management, working closely with First Nation 
Wall, Geoff  University of Waterloo  Faculty of Environment  Professor  Hull  gwall@uwaterloo.ca  Tourism and aboriginal peoples in Taiwan 
Richmond, Chantelle  University of Western Ontario  Department of Geography  Assistant Professor  McGill  crichmo2@uwo.ca  Aboriginal health 
Carmichael, Barbara  Wilfrid Laurier University  Department of Geography and Environmental Studies  Professor  Victoria  bcarmich@wlu.ca  First Nations and casino gambling 
Decker, Jody  Wilfrid Laurier University  Department of Geography and Environmental Studies  Associate Professor  York  jdecker@wlu.ca  Native issues in Canada 
Armitage, Derek  Wilfrid Laurier University  Department of Geography and Environmental Studies  Associate Professor  Waterloo  darmitag@wlu.ca  Adaptive and collaborative management, community-based resource management, sustainable livelihoods, and environment and development 
Beckford, Clinton  University of Windsor  Department of Earth and Environmental Science  Assistant Professor  West Indies  clinton@uwindsor.ca  Local/traditional knowledge systems and sustainable resource use in the Caribbean 

Distasio, Jino

 

Roth, Robin

 

Wood, Patricia 

University of Winnipeg

 

York University

 

York University 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography

 

Department of Geography 

Associate Professor

 

Associate Professor

 

Associate Professor 

Manitoba Clark Duke 

j.distasio@uwinnipeg.ca

 

rothr@yorku.ca

 

pwood@yorku.ca 

Urban Aboriginal issues Political ecology, environmental conservation, social-ecological landscapes, sustainable livelihoods Native/non-native relations, past and present 


© 2010 Indigenous Geography